peas and sunshine

…and everything else.

Soup for the storm, part 2: Ramen for a rainy day

I’ve been meaning to make miso ramen since L made a few bowls of her own at home some time ago, but other things got in the way. Then Tita E, D, and M came over to visit and brought along some nori from Korea. Another reminder to make ramen. And then Typhoon Mina came along. Message is loud and clear: Now it’s really time to make soup!

On rainy days like this one, I’d usually make a pot of arroz caldo which can last me for the duration of a storm. In the last couple of days, however, ┬áI decided to change it up. The corn chowder I previously made was great, but now I wanted to try something Asian again. (One can only take so much cream-based soups.)

The miso ramen recipe was something L found online. It was really easy to make, and the ingredients were, thankfully, ┬áreadily available at the grocery store. Well, almost all ingredients. I didn’t find any narutomaki so I settled for the rabbit-shaped fish cakes instead. (Looking at them now, they seem a little creepy on the soup. I remember seeing other fish cakes in the image of Hello Kitty in another supermarket. Those may have been cuter. Or not. Who knows.) Anyway, I love this miso ramen! It’s something I’ll definitely make again.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Soup for the storm, part 2: Ramen for a rainy day

  1. I was just going to say those bunny heads did seem kind of creepy. But my eyes keep getting drawn to that lovely soft-boiled egg. You really are a cook, OLS. ;-)

    • Geeteynks. I was probably lucky this time.

    • When we were young, our folks would almost always have soft-boiled eggs for breakfast. They prepared them for us too. I don’t remember when we stopped having them and why. Was it a thing of the times? Or wala lang?

Leave a Reply

It's Just A Glitch

Sure, it's cancer. But life goes on.

A Book for Young People (who are younger than me)

It's a blog--not a book, actually--with stuff a mum like me would like to say, despite having said so much already

leroy and company

love is an infinite resource

Cam's Case

Unique and personalized gadget cases

That's "Ms. Ruby" to you!

Sass and circumstance with Ruby the pit bull

peas and sunshine

...and everything else.

The Full Monty

Anything and everything about Monty, my Siamese cat.

Curly Tail Pictures

telling stories through pictures News

The latest news on and the WordPress community.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

